Eagle Lake Observatory Keyholder Directory


Current as of June 14, 2014

(Observatory keyholders are trained in the operation of the
observatory, telescope and equipment, and have met the keyholder service
requirements. They have 24/7 access to the observatory.)

Name E-Mail City Phone Cell Phone Forum Name
Brian Allison
Rajib Bahar
Steve Baranski steve_baranski@fastmail.fm Mounds View 763-792-9262 612-819-7962 Steve Baranski
Bob Benson robert.benson829@gmail.com Minnetonka 952-937-5451 612-558-8159 Bob
Scott Billeadeau
Tim Biros tbiros@aol.com Norwood Young America 612-414-7222 612-414-7222 TimBiros
Wayne Boline tramp46@aol.com Crystal 763-533-3229 612-310-5849 Wayne
Rev. Eugene M. Brown brownreveugene66@gmail.com Winsted 507-530-6187 Padre
Jeff Burrows jmb5121@comcast.net Edina 952-922-3841 612-840-8793 jmburrows
Bill Bynum billbynum@comcast.net Brooklyn Park 763-315-4016 Bill Bynum
Travis Calhoun
Kurt Casby Kurt.Casby@comcast.net St. Paul 651-735-3637 Kurt A. Casby
John Charboneau john_charboneau@excite.com Merrifield 218-765-3373 John Charboneau
Deane Clark drclarkjr@comcast.net Minneapolis 612-922-9638 Deane Clark
Mark Connolly
Scott Drewitz sd58@aol.com Mounds View 763-780-3362 SD58
John Dwyer
Steve Emert lakeaires@msn.com White Bear Lake 651-426-2502 651-226-6820 SEmert
Jim Emery
Dave Falkner defalkner@aol.com Blaine 763-785-0539 612-281-4928 defalkner
Larry Groom
Dale Hagert dhagert@comcast.net Eagan 651-452-1030 Dale
Jake Hairrell jake.hairrell@gmail.com Crystal 612-245-3850 jhairrell
Brandon Hamil
Chris Hansen zurialjazz@gmail.com Columbia Heights 612-701-2785 songbird
Tom Hawkinson hawkhome@comcast.net Plymouth 763-544-6438 TomHawkinson
Ric Heins
Jon Hickman jon@thehickmans.com Plymouth 763-476-4021 612-819-1685 Jon Hickman
Merle Hiltner mhiltner@charter.net Farmington 952-891-8228 952-797-2439 merle
Lauren Hoen lauren.hoen@genmills.com Long Lake 952-473-1946 763-234-9905 lhoen
Ken Hugill kenhugill@comcast.net Minneapolis 612-789-6116 Huggy
Kris Hultner ff2rydia@visi.com Excelsior 952-474-1603 FF2Rydia
Ben Huset benhuset@skypoint.com New Brighton 651-631-1987 651-587-0486 benhuset
Gunnar Isberg
Dick Jacobson jacobson@ties.k12.mn.us Plymouth 763-553-1306 Dick Jacobson
Len Jannusch
Mark Job mark@markjob.com Buffalo 763-684-0606 763-639-9618 markjob
Charlie Johnson
Michael Kauper childcareguy47@yahoo.com Minneapolis 612-827-3481 Michael_Kauper
Bill & Danette King william.king.mn@gmail.com Burnsville 952-882-9726 Bill
Jim Knudsen jim.knudsen@comcast.net Woodbury 651-739-1586 magneton
Bill Kocken w.kocken@comcast.net Coon Rapids 612-554-6712 612-554-6712 wkocken
John Krawczak johnkra@usfamily.net Minnetonka 952-933-2085 johnkra
Roxanne Kuerschner roxkuerschner@gmail.com Glencoe 320-864-5798 Roxanne
Jackie LaVaque buzzygirl@comcast.net Little Canada 651-494-4234 Buzzygirl
Lizao (Larry) Li
Clayton Lindsey ClaytonLindsey@comcast.net Woodbury 651-340-3307 651-231-5619 clayton
Ashutosh Lotlikar ashutoshl@hotmail.com Eden Prairie 952-240-8384 ashutoshl
Mike Malik
Mark Mattson
Javier Medrano Javandker@gmail.com Minneapolis 612-823-8147 612-719-3819 Jmedrano
Doug Miller
Emily Moravec
Alan Noot
Dave Olmstead david@davidolmstead.com Plymouth 612-208-4261 612-208-4261 Dave Olmstead
David Polan
Mardon Quandt
Kirby Richter kirbyrichter@yahoo.com Eden Prairie 952-583-5199 952-484-3650 krichter
David Runkle
Roy Sarver rcsarver@usjet.net St. Paul 651-647-6480 612-805-3038 RCSARVER
Ron Schmit ron.schmit@gmail.com Chaska 952-368-4134 Ron Schmit
Loren Schoenzeit
David Schultz DSchultz@gw.hamline.edu St. Paul 651-292-1096 dschultz@hamline.edu
Amelia Schumacher
Dave Sjogren dasjog@usfamily.com Saint Paul 651-645-1362 Dave-
Suresh Sreenivasan
Geoff Stone
Jimmy Thorne alblondie3@hotmail.com Cologne 612-743-0716 Jimmy
Todd Thyberg todd@angelbomb.com Richfield 612-770-1153 612-770-1153 angelbomb
Sam Tratechaud
Jeff Trinh shijiefu2-2@yahoo.com Minneapolis jephitrinh
Earl Truss
Marcus Tuepker
David Venne
Michael Wagner
Paul Walker walke072@umn.edu Minnetonka 952-931-0999 Paul Walker
Chris White cwhite1@jakeblaster.com Bloomington 952-451-7759 952-451-7759 Chris White
Don Windseth
Brian Wray

Keyholder responsibilities:

Every keyholder must:

  • Be a member in good-standing of the Minnesota Astronomical Society
  • Be at least eighteen years of age
  • Complete the observatory training program
  • Enforce observatory operating rules and guidelines when the observatory is in
    use and they are present
  • Complete the closing checklist and observatory log each time they are in
    charge of any observatory-related activity (construction and maintenance work parties, MAS star parties, public events,
    educational events, etc.)

In addition, each keyholder is required to contribute in one or more of the
following areas (refer to the "Volunteer
Opportunities
" page for more information):

  • Act as host for MAS members visiting the observatory during star parties
    held at Baylor
  • Help with public events at the observatory either as team member or team
    leader
  • Participate in observatory construction "work parties"
  • Participate in quarterly observatory maintenance "work parties"
    (cleaning, adjusting equipment, taking inventory, etc.)
  • Be available to non-keyholding MAS members desiring use of the
    observatory for special projects
  • Conduct observatory-based educational events for schools, scouts and
    similar groups
  • Recruit and train others as observatory keyholders or participants in
    work parties and events

Keyholder privileges:

  • Personal use of the observatory when not previously scheduled for public
    event, MAS star party or educational event
  • Annual recognition of efforts, published in Gemini